HomeCiak In MostraCiak In Mostra 2023Venice 80, the evening of the winners

Venice 80, the evening of the winners

It is verdict day for the 80th edition of the Venice International Film Festival. Tonight, during the closing ceremony conducted by godmother Caterina Murino, the Jury composed of Damien Chazelle (president), Saleh Bakri, Jane Campion, Mia Hansen-Løve, Gabriele Mainetti, Martin McDonagh, Santiago Mitre, Laura Poitras, Shu Qi, will award the following official prizes to the feature films in Competition in Venice: Golden Lion for Best Film, Silver Lion – Grand Jury Prize, Silver Lion – Best Director Award, Coppa Volpi for Best Male and Female Actor, Special Jury Prize, Best Screenplay Award, Marcello Mastroianni Award to a young emerging actor or actress.

The awards ceremony for the titles in the competition will be preceded by the awarding ceremony of the Orizzonti section, dedicated to films representing new aesthetic and expressive trends. The Jury, composed of Jonas Carpignano (President), Kaouther Ben Hania, Kahlil Joseph, Jean-Paul Salomé, and Tricia Tuttle will award the following prizes: Orizzonti Award for Best Film, Orizzonti Award for Best Director, Orizzonti Special Jury Award, Orizzonti Award for Best Female and Male Performance, Orizzonti Award for Best Screenplay, Orizzonti Award for Best Short Film.

There is also the award for the best first feature, “Luigi De Laurentiis”, whose Jury, composed of Alice Diop (Chairwoman), Faouzi Bensaïdi, Laura Citarella, Andrea De Sica and Chloe Domont, will award, without the possibility of ex aequo, among all the first feature-length works present in the different competitive sections of the Festival (Official Selection and Autonomous and Parallel Sections), the Lion of the Future – Venice Opera Prima “Luigi De Laurentiis” Award, and a prize of 100.000 USD, provided by Filmauro, which will be divided equally between the director and the producer.

The closing night will be broadcast live on Rai Movie at 6:45 p.m. today. Biennale will update its social profiles.

Films in competition Venice 80

Adagio, directed by Stefano Sollima (Italy)

Aku wa sonzai shinai, directed by Ryūsuke Hamaguchi (Japan)

Bastarden, directed by Nikolaj Arcel (Denmark, Germany, Sweden)

La Bête, directed by Bertrand Bonello (France, Canada)

Comandante, directed by Edoardo De Angelis (Italy) – opening film

El Conde, directed by Pablo Larraín (Chile)

Dogman, directed by Luc Besson (France)

Aeneas, directed by Pietro Castellitto (Italy)

Ferrari, directed by Michael Mann (United States of America, Italy)

Finalmente l’alba, directed by Saverio Costanzo (Italy)

Holly, directed by Fien Troch (Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, France)

Hors-Saison, directed by Stéphane Brizé (France)

Io capitano, directed by Matteo Garrone (Italy, France)

Kobieta z…, directed by Małgorzata Szumowska and Michał Englert (Poland, Sweden)

Lubo, directed by Giorgio Diritti (Italy, Switzerland)

Maestro, directed by Bradley Cooper (United States of America)

Memory, directed by Michel Franco (Mexico, United States of America)

Origin, directed by Ava DuVernay (United States of America)

The Killer, directed by David Fincher (United States of America)

Poor Things! (Poor Things), directed by Yorgos Lanthimos (Ireland)

Priscilla, directed by Sofia Coppola (United States of America, Italy)

Die Theorie von Allem, directed by Timm Kröger (Germany, Austria, Switzerland)

Zielona granica, directed by Agnieszka Holland (Poland, France, Czech Republic, Belgium)

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.